Windsurf vs Windsurf Pro
Published limits, price and every dated limit change for both plans, side by side. Each value comes from the vendor’s page or a cited source; where a vendor publishes no number, we say so.
Windsurf costs $0; Windsurf Pro costs $20/mo. LimitWatch has logged 0 changes to Windsurf (0 cuts, 0 increases) and 3 to Windsurf Pro (1 cut, 0 increases).
| Windsurf (Devin) Free | Windsurf Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $0 | $20/mo |
| Published limits | Usage Light quota to code with agents (no figure published) | Windows Daily + weekly allowance (daily is more than 1/7 of weekly) |
| Coding agent Devin Desktop agents; Devin Cloud is Pro and up | How usage counts Billed at the token cost of the model you pick | |
| Models Limited model availability | Absolute figure None published | |
| Tab and inline edits Unlimited | Past the allowance Extra usage at API pricing (on-demand credits roll over) | |
| Resets Not stated for Free (paid plans refresh daily and weekly) | GPT models Can bill to a linked ChatGPT Go, Plus or Pro plan instead | |
| Limit changes logged | None logged yet | 3 changes since 19 Mar 2026 ▲ 0 ▼ 1 ● 2 |
| Cuts in last 180 days | 0 | 1 |
| Last change | — | Less 28 Oct 2026 Devin Desktop: Gemini 4 Argon's extra 50% off ends, its token price doubles |
| Notes | Pro ($20/mo) adds frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini and SpaceXAI, free SWE-2, Devin Cloud and extra usage at API pricing. | Devin (formerly Windsurf) no longer publishes message counts. The March 18, 2026 estimates (e.g. ~8–101 Premium messages a day) came from the launch post and are no longer on the pricing page. Max ($200/mo) has a weekly allowance only, with no daily cap. |
| Source | devin.ai checked 1 Nov 2026 | docs.devin.ai checked 27 Oct 2026 |
| Full Windsurf page → | Full Windsurf Pro page → |
Units differ between vendors (sessions, credits, requests, multipliers), so limits are shown as each vendor publishes them rather than converted.
Same-day alerts for 2 plans
Change history, both plans (3)
Devin Desktop: Gemini 4 Argon's extra 50% off ends, its token price doubles
$1.00 / 1M input, $5.00 / 1M output, $0.05 / 1M cached input (introductory + extra 50% off)$2.00 / 1M input, $10.00 / 1M output, $0.10 / 1M cached input (introductory, through Dec 1, 2026)Details and source
Self-serve quota and extra usage in Devin Desktop and Devin CLI are billed at the token cost of the model you pick. Gemini 4 Argon's extra 50% off ran through Oct 27, so from Oct 28 the same Argon work uses about twice as much quota. Introductory pricing still applies through Dec 1, then regular pricing ($4/$20 per 1M) kicks in. On Enterprise (ACUs) Argon goes from 75% to 50% off list, and legacy credit plans lose the half-price credit rate.
Vendor’s framing: “Gemini 4 Argon is available at introductory pricing ($2.00/1M input, $10.00/1M output, $0.10/1M cache input) through December 1, 2026, with an additional 50% off ($1.00/1M input, $5.00/1M output, $0.05/1M cache input) through October 27, 2026.”
Source: Devin Docs: AI Models · Announced: Scheduled in Devin's models docs (checked 2026-10-26 and 2026-10-28) · Plans: Windsurf ProDevin (Windsurf) can bill GPT usage to your ChatGPT plan
All model usage in Devin counted against the Devin allowance.GPT usage can draw from a linked ChatGPT Plus or Pro plan (Go was added later per Devin's docs); other usage still uses Devin quota.Details and source
On Devin Pro, Max and Teams you can sign in with ChatGPT and have OpenAI model usage come out of your ChatGPT plan's Codex and Work usage instead of your Devin allowance. You can cap how much Devin may use in ChatGPT settings; past that cap, sessions fall back to Devin usage. Non-GPT models, Fast/priority variants, Cloud machine time and code scans still use Devin quota.
Vendor’s framing: “If you have an eligible ChatGPT Plus or Pro plan, you can sign in to Devin with ChatGPT and use that plan for any OpenAI models usage in Devin.” … “Usage in Devin counts toward the Codex and ChatGPT Work usage already included in your plan.”
Source: Devin (Cognition) blog · Announced: 2026-09-29, Cognition blog · Plans: Windsurf Pro, ChatGPT Plus (Codex), ChatGPT Pro 100, ChatGPT Pro 200, ChatGPT Pro 500Windsurf drops credits for daily + weekly quotas
Monthly credit pool (Pro: 500 credits/month).Daily and weekly quotas; extra usage at API pricing.Details and source
Credit pools replaced by usage allowances that refresh daily and weekly; overage at API pricing; existing paid subscribers got a free extra week.
Vendor’s framing: “No more credits… For the majority of users, this quota will be enough to fully cover all agent usage.”
Source: Windsurf (Cognition) blog · Announced: 2026-03-18, Windsurf/Cognition blog · Plans: Windsurf Pro
Windsurf vs Windsurf Pro: FAQ
How much do Windsurf and Windsurf Pro cost?
Windsurf: $0 (Windsurf pricing page, checked 1 Nov 2026). Windsurf Pro: $20/mo (Windsurf pricing page, checked 27 Oct 2026).
What are the usage limits on Windsurf vs Windsurf Pro?
Windsurf — Usage: Light quota to code with agents (no figure published); Coding agent: Devin Desktop agents; Devin Cloud is Pro and up; Models: Limited model availability; Tab and inline edits: Unlimited; Resets: Not stated for Free (paid plans refresh daily and weekly). Windsurf Pro — Windows: Daily + weekly allowance (daily is more than 1/7 of weekly); How usage counts: Billed at the token cost of the model you pick; Absolute figure: None published; Past the allowance: Extra usage at API pricing (on-demand credits roll over); GPT models: Can bill to a linked ChatGPT Go, Plus or Pro plan instead.
Which has had more limit cuts, Windsurf or Windsurf Pro?
Windsurf: no dated changes logged yet. Windsurf Pro: 3 logged changes since 19 Mar 2026 (0 increases, 1 cut, 2 other).
When did Windsurf and Windsurf Pro limits last change?
No change logged for Windsurf yet. Windsurf Pro last changed on 28 Oct 2026: Devin Desktop: Gemini 4 Argon's extra 50% off ends, its token price doubles.
More comparisons: Cursor on The X Subscription vs Windsurf Pro · All comparisons