Free AI coding plans: what each $0 tier includes
7 free tiers, in the vendors’ own words: how much you get, when it resets, which models, and whether the coding agent is included. Checked against each vendor’s page on 1 Nov 2026.
| Plan | Usage | Next step up |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Free Anthropic | Limited usage every 5 hours and every week (no figure published) Resets: Rolling 5-hour window plus a weekly limit | Claude Pro $20/mo ($17/mo billed annually) · compare |
| ChatGPT Free OpenAI | Codex for quick coding tasks (no figure published) Resets: Not published | ChatGPT Plus $20/mo · compare |
| GitHub Copilot Free GitHub Copilot | An allowance of GitHub AI Credits (size not published) Resets: Not stated | GitHub Copilot Pro $10/mo · compare |
| Cursor Free Cursor | Limited agent and Chat requests (no figure published) Resets: Usage pool refreshes weekly | Cursor on The X Subscription $8 / $30 / $100 / $200 per mo · compare |
| Windsurf Windsurf | Light quota to code with agents (no figure published) Resets: Not stated for Free (paid plans refresh daily and weekly) | Windsurf Pro $20/mo · compare |
| Google Antigravity Free / AI Plus Google | A meaningful quota, refreshed weekly, plus a weekly rate limit Resets: Not stated | Google AI Pro $19.99/mo · compare |
| Amazon Kiro Free Amazon Kiro | 50 credits / month Resets: Start of each billing month, no rollover | Amazon Kiro $20 / $40 / $100 / $200 per user/mo · compare |
On a phone, tap a plan for its coding-agent and model details. Each plan page links to the vendor source and keeps a dated change history.
Free tier by tier
- Claude Free $0
Usage Limited usage every 5 hours and every week (no figure published) Coding agent Claude Code not included (Pro and up) Models Sonnet and Haiku; no Opus, no Fable Resets Rolling 5-hour window plus a weekly limit Beyond the limit No usage credits on Free: wait for the reset or upgrade Anthropic says Pro gives at least 5x more usage per 5-hour session than Free. Free includes chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, code execution, Artifacts and up to 5 Projects.
Source: claude.com · checked 1 Nov 2026 - ChatGPT Free (Codex) $0
Usage Codex for quick coding tasks (no figure published) Coding agent Codex in the desktop app, subject to rollout Models GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed Resets Not published Beyond the limit Extra local chats with your own API key, at API rates ChatGPT Go ($8/mo) lists the same Codex access: GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app. Codex on the web, CLI and IDE extension, cloud code review and GPT-6.1 Sol start at Plus ($20/mo). Image generation isn't available on Free.
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 1 Nov 2026 - GitHub Copilot Free $0
Usage An allowance of GitHub AI Credits (size not published) Code completions 2,000 / month Coding agent Agents: limited; Copilot cloud agent is paid only Models Auto model selection only Beyond the limit Not stated for Free; paid plans start at Pro ($10/mo, 1,500 credits) Only for individuals who don't get Copilot through an organization or enterprise. Chat skills in IDEs aren't available on Free, and code review is limited to “Review selection” in VS Code. Verified students can get Copilot Student at no cost instead.
Source: docs.github.com · checked 1 Nov 2026 - Cursor Free $0
Usage Limited agent and Chat requests (no figure published) Coding agent Agent included; no cloud agents or automations Models No third-party models (Premium and up, at API list price) Resets Usage pool refreshes weekly Beyond the limit Not stated for Free; Plus is $8/mo Cursor is now sold through The X Subscription: the Free pool is shared with Grok Chat and Imagine. Plus ($8/mo) adds a basic pool with Grok models only; Premium ($30/mo) has 4x Plus.
Source: cursor.com · checked 1 Nov 2026 - Windsurf (Devin) Free $0
Usage Light quota to code with agents (no figure published) Coding agent Devin Desktop agents; Devin Cloud is Pro and up Models Limited model availability Tab and inline edits Unlimited Resets Not stated for Free (paid plans refresh daily and weekly) Pro ($20/mo) adds frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini and SpaceXAI, free SWE-2, Devin Cloud and extra usage at API pricing.
Source: devin.ai · checked 1 Nov 2026 - Google Antigravity Free / AI Plus $0 (also covers Google AI Plus)
Usage A meaningful quota, refreshed weekly, plus a weekly rate limit Coding agent Antigravity agent with all features, incl. scheduled tasks and CLI Models Gemini 3.8 Flash; Claude Sonnet 4.6, Opus 4.6 and GPT-OSS-120b until their removal on Nov 2, 2026 Tab completions Unlimited Beyond the limit No AI credit overages (Pro and Ultra only) Google lists Free and Google AI Plus in one column. No Gemini 4 Argon and no Claude 5.5 models on this tier. Google doesn't publish an absolute quota figure.
Source: antigravity.google · checked 1 Nov 2026 - Amazon Kiro Free $0
Usage 50 credits / month Models Open-weight models and Claude Sonnet 4.5, with limits Resets Start of each billing month, no rollover Beyond the limit No add-on credits (paid tiers only) Upgrade trial First upgrade to Pro: rest of the month free plus 500 trial credits to use within 12 months Kiro calls Free a “perpetual” tier. Not available for Enterprise or GovCloud. Kiro says users who upgraded before November 1 keep the $20 discount and their unused credits.
Source: kiro.dev · checked 1 Nov 2026
Same-day alerts for 7 plans
Free AI coding plans: FAQ
Is Claude Code free?
Claude Free costs $0. Usage: Limited usage every 5 hours and every week (no figure published). Coding agent: Claude Code not included (Pro and up). Models: Sonnet and Haiku; no Opus, no Fable. The next step up is Claude Pro ($20/mo ($17/mo billed annually)). Source: claude.com, checked 1 Nov 2026.
Is Codex free?
ChatGPT Free (Codex) costs $0. Usage: Codex for quick coding tasks (no figure published). Coding agent: Codex in the desktop app, subject to rollout. Models: GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed. The next step up is ChatGPT Plus ($20/mo). Source: developers.openai.com, checked 1 Nov 2026.
Is GitHub Copilot free?
GitHub Copilot Free costs $0. Usage: An allowance of GitHub AI Credits (size not published). Coding agent: Agents: limited; Copilot cloud agent is paid only. Models: Auto model selection only. The next step up is GitHub Copilot Pro ($10/mo). Source: docs.github.com, checked 1 Nov 2026.
Is Cursor free?
Cursor Free costs $0. Usage: Limited agent and Chat requests (no figure published). Coding agent: Agent included; no cloud agents or automations. Models: No third-party models (Premium and up, at API list price). The next step up is Cursor on The X Subscription ($8 / $30 / $100 / $200 per mo). Source: cursor.com, checked 1 Nov 2026.
Is Windsurf (Devin) free?
Windsurf (Devin) Free costs $0. Usage: Light quota to code with agents (no figure published). Coding agent: Devin Desktop agents; Devin Cloud is Pro and up. Models: Limited model availability. The next step up is Windsurf Pro ($20/mo). Source: devin.ai, checked 1 Nov 2026.
Is Google Antigravity free?
Google Antigravity Free / AI Plus costs $0 (also covers Google AI Plus). Usage: A meaningful quota, refreshed weekly, plus a weekly rate limit. Coding agent: Antigravity agent with all features, incl. scheduled tasks and CLI. Models: Gemini 3.8 Flash; Claude Sonnet 4.6, Opus 4.6 and GPT-OSS-120b until their removal on Nov 2, 2026. The next step up is Google AI Pro ($19.99/mo). Source: antigravity.google, checked 1 Nov 2026.
Is Kiro free?
Amazon Kiro Free costs $0. Usage: 50 credits / month. Models: Open-weight models and Claude Sonnet 4.5, with limits. The next step up is Amazon Kiro ($20 / $40 / $100 / $200 per user/mo). Source: kiro.dev, checked 1 Nov 2026.
Which free AI coding plans publish an exact limit?
Google Antigravity Free / AI Plus (A meaningful quota, refreshed weekly, plus a weekly rate limit), Amazon Kiro Free (50 credits / month). The others describe their free usage only in words, such as “limited” or “light quota”.
Paid plans: all plans in one table · compare any two · changes coming up