GitHub Copilot Free vs GitHub Copilot Pro
Published limits, price and every dated limit change for both plans, side by side. Each value comes from the vendor’s page or a cited source; where a vendor publishes no number, we say so.
GitHub Copilot Free costs $0; GitHub Copilot Pro costs $10/mo. LimitWatch has logged 0 changes to GitHub Copilot Free (0 cuts, 0 increases) and 5 to GitHub Copilot Pro (2 cuts, 2 increases).
| GitHub Copilot Free | GitHub Copilot Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $0 | $10/mo |
| Published limits | Usage An allowance of GitHub AI Credits (size not published) | Base credits 1,000 / month |
| Code completions 2,000 / month | Flex allotment 500 / month (variable) | |
| Coding agent Agents: limited; Copilot cloud agent is paid only | Total 1,500 AI credits / month | |
| Models Auto model selection only | Reset 00:00 UTC on the 1st, no rollover | |
| Beyond the limit Not stated for Free; paid plans start at Pro ($10/mo, 1,500 credits) | ||
| Limit changes logged | None logged yet | 5 changes since 20 Apr 2026 ▲ 2 ▼ 2 ● 1 |
| Cuts in last 180 days | 0 | 1 |
| Last change | — | More 28 Oct 2026 Copilot Fusion launches with 30% off model costs for a limited time |
| Notes | Only for individuals who don't get Copilot through an organization or enterprise. Chat skills in IDEs aren't available on Free, and code review is limited to “Review selection” in VS Code. Verified students can get Copilot Student at no cost instead. | 1 AI credit = $0.01. Code completions remain unlimited on paid plans. |
| Source | docs.github.com checked 1 Nov 2026 | docs.github.com checked 27 Oct 2026 |
| Full GitHub Copilot Free page → | Full GitHub Copilot Pro page → |
Units differ between vendors (sessions, credits, requests, multipliers), so limits are shown as each vendor publishes them rather than converted.
Same-day alerts for 2 plans
Change history, both plans (5)
Copilot Fusion launches with 30% off model costs for a limited time
Auto model selection: 10% off model costsCopilot Fusion: 30% off model costs (limited time, no end date given)Details and source
Copilot Fusion (GA Oct 28) routes each task across models and bills each model it uses at its standard rate. For a limited time, paid Copilot plans get 30% off model costs when using Fusion, so AI credits go further than with a hand-picked model or the 10% Auto discount. GitHub gave no end date.
Vendor’s framing: For a limited time, users on paid Copilot plans will receive a 30% discount on model costs when using Copilot Fusion.
Copilot switches to usage-based billing (AI Credits)
Premium request units × model multiplier.GitHub AI Credits (1 credit = $0.01) based on token consumption.Details and source
All Copilot plans now bill in GitHub AI Credits metered on input, output and cached tokens, replacing premium-request units.
Vendor’s framing: “all GitHub Copilot plans will transition to usage-based billing”
Source: GitHub Changelog · Announced: 2026-04-27 blog; live 2026-06-01 changelog · Plans: GitHub Copilot Pro, GitHub Copilot Pro+, GitHub Copilot Max, GitHub Copilot Business / EnterpriseCopilot Pro/Pro+ get a ‘flex allotment’ on top of base credits
Included usage equal to subscription price in credits.Pro 1,500 / Pro+ 7,000 / Max 20,000 credits per month.Details and source
Included usage became base + flex: Pro $10+$5=$15, Pro+ $39+$31=$70, Max $100+$100=$200. Base credits ‘never change’; flex ‘will vary over time’.
Vendor’s framing: “Base credits: matched 1:1 with your subscription price. These never change. Flex allotment: variable additional usage on top of your base.”
Source: GitHub Blog · Announced: 2026-05-12, GitHub blog · Plans: GitHub Copilot Pro, GitHub Copilot Pro+, GitHub Copilot MaxCopilot annual plans: model multipliers increased
Pre-June model multipliers.Higher multipliers — same allowance drains faster.Details and source
Annual Pro/Pro+ stay on premium-request pricing until expiry, but model multipliers increased for annual subscribers only; at expiry they move to Copilot Free unless converted.
Vendor’s framing: “Model multipliers will increase on June 1 (see table) for annual plan subscribers only.”
Source: GitHub Blog · Announced: 2026-04-27, GitHub blog · Plans: GitHub Copilot Pro, GitHub Copilot Pro+GitHub Copilot tightens individual-plan limits
Premium-request limits as previously published.Tighter limits; Pro+ more than 5x Pro.Details and source
Tighter usage limits on Pro and Pro+ (Pro+ >5x Pro), Opus removed from Pro, new Pro/Pro+/Student sign-ups paused; refunds offered until May 20.
Vendor’s framing: “Tighter usage limits for individual plans”
Source: GitHub Changelog · Announced: 2026-04-20, GitHub changelog · Plans: GitHub Copilot Pro, GitHub Copilot Pro+
GitHub Copilot Free vs GitHub Copilot Pro: FAQ
How much do GitHub Copilot Free and GitHub Copilot Pro cost?
GitHub Copilot Free: $0 (GitHub Copilot pricing page, checked 1 Nov 2026). GitHub Copilot Pro: $10/mo (GitHub Copilot pricing page, checked 27 Oct 2026).
What are the usage limits on GitHub Copilot Free vs GitHub Copilot Pro?
GitHub Copilot Free — Usage: An allowance of GitHub AI Credits (size not published); Code completions: 2,000 / month; Coding agent: Agents: limited; Copilot cloud agent is paid only; Models: Auto model selection only; Beyond the limit: Not stated for Free; paid plans start at Pro ($10/mo, 1,500 credits). GitHub Copilot Pro — Base credits: 1,000 / month; Flex allotment: 500 / month (variable); Total: 1,500 AI credits / month; Reset: 00:00 UTC on the 1st, no rollover.
Which has had more limit cuts, GitHub Copilot Free or GitHub Copilot Pro?
GitHub Copilot Free: no dated changes logged yet. GitHub Copilot Pro: 5 logged changes since 20 Apr 2026 (2 increases, 2 cuts, 1 other).
When did GitHub Copilot Free and GitHub Copilot Pro limits last change?
No change logged for GitHub Copilot Free yet. GitHub Copilot Pro last changed on 28 Oct 2026: Copilot Fusion launches with 30% off model costs for a limited time.
More comparisons: GitHub Copilot Pro vs GitHub Copilot Pro+ · Claude Pro vs GitHub Copilot Pro · GitHub Copilot Pro vs Cursor on The X Subscription · All comparisons