Plans / Free plans / GitHub Copilot

GitHub Copilot Free usage limits

$0 · Last updated

Current limits as of 1 Nov 2026

GitHub Copilot Free costs $0. Usage: An allowance of GitHub AI Credits (size not published). Code completions: 2,000 / month.

All published limits
UsageAn allowance of GitHub AI Credits (size not published)
Code completions2,000 / month
Coding agentAgents: limited; Copilot cloud agent is paid only
ModelsAuto model selection only
Beyond the limitNot stated for Free; paid plans start at Pro ($10/mo, 1,500 credits)

Only for individuals who don't get Copilot through an organization or enterprise. Chat skills in IDEs aren't available on Free, and code review is limited to “Review selection” in VS Code. Verified students can get Copilot Student at no cost instead.

Source: docs.github.com · checked 1 Nov 2026 · source check log

Next step up: GitHub Copilot Pro ($10/mo) · compare GitHub Copilot Free vs GitHub Copilot Pro · all free tiers

How long does the week actually last?

No reader reports yet for this plan. Add yours.

Email me when GitHub Copilot Free changesOne email the day a sourced change is logged, plus the Monday recap. Unsubscribe anytime.
Same-day alerts for 1 plan
Which plans are you on?

Follow GitHub Copilot Free by RSS · works in Feedly, Slack /feed, Discord and any reader · All feeds

GitHub Copilot Free limits badge Embed this badge or a live card on your site or README

GitHub Copilot Free limits: FAQ

What are the GitHub Copilot Free usage limits?

As of 1 Nov 2026: Usage: An allowance of GitHub AI Credits (size not published). Code completions: 2,000 / month. Coding agent: Agents: limited; Copilot cloud agent is paid only. Models: Auto model selection only. Beyond the limit: Not stated for Free; paid plans start at Pro ($10/mo, 1,500 credits).

How much does GitHub Copilot Free cost?

$0 (per the vendor's pricing page, checked 1 Nov 2026).

Anything else to know about GitHub Copilot Free limits?

Only for individuals who don't get Copilot through an organization or enterprise. Chat skills in IDEs aren't available on Free, and code review is limited to “Review selection” in VS Code. Verified students can get Copilot Student at no cost instead.

Related plans: GitHub Copilot Pro · GitHub Copilot Pro+ · GitHub Copilot Max · GitHub Copilot Business / Enterprise · All GitHub Copilot changes

Change history (0)

No dated changes recorded for this plan yet.